TetraFish Logo
 

Tetra Forums

Home > Tetra Aquarium > Tetra Forums
  #1  
Old 04-17-2010, 08:28 PM
kingkarter kingkarter is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Michigan
Posts: 247
Exclamation Dont Yous It

DONT YOUS THIS WEB SITE fishlore.com ok heres why this web site will put all kined of virus's on your computer and steel info off your computer wich can lead to the stealing of idinty NOT A SAFE SITE PLEAS STAY CLEAR OF IT
__________________
How is it one careless match can start a forest fire, but it takes a whole box to start a campfire? ~Author Unknown

If you lend somebody $20 and they never come back, then it was worth it.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-17-2010, 08:54 PM
Pris Pris is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: twilight zone
Posts: 9,211
Default

It is not the site. It is the hackers that have hacked the site. A good virus program will prevent any problems visiting the site. I visit it occasionally.
__________________
"So that is what the death of liberty sounds like - thunderous applause."
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-17-2010, 09:21 PM
kingkarter kingkarter is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Michigan
Posts: 247
Default

I checkd McAfee SiteAdvisor and these are mine problms Rating: Adware, spyware, or viruses all three of those thing are verry bad the spyware can steal your id the virus can be link to spyware and they can crash your computer adware leads to viruses if you are still going to go to this site pls dont but if you do get spyware docter remeber nothing can give you 100% protection
__________________
How is it one careless match can start a forest fire, but it takes a whole box to start a campfire? ~Author Unknown

If you lend somebody $20 and they never come back, then it was worth it.

Last edited by kingkarter : 04-17-2010 at 09:24 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-18-2010, 12:15 PM
Pris Pris is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: twilight zone
Posts: 9,211
Default

I use McAfee and the site advisor puts those same warnings on any site it does not have any information on. Those are risks associated with surfing not well known sites. It does not mean that McAfee has scanned the site and found those things. McAfee does not have the ability to scan the millions of sites out there totally.

In other words, if you were to host a web site, McAfee would rate your site the same way - because it knows nothing about you. How would you feel if you suddenly had people posting all over the internet that your site had viruses - when in fact it didn't, just because the site advisor said that was a risk?

The site advisor is a tool - and like all tools needs to be used responsibly. All the tool is really telling you is that they have no information about the site on file, a cursory scan has not been able to determine if the site is clean or not - and therefore, you should be careful when choosing to visit the site due to the "potential" risks.

If your parents have told you to never visit a site that the McAfee advisor gives this warning about - then obey your parents. But please don't post information about a site that could be false.
__________________
"So that is what the death of liberty sounds like - thunderous applause."
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-21-2010, 04:37 PM
tw1n03 tw1n03 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 175
Send a message via Yahoo to tw1n03
Default

Quote:
I use McAfee and the site advisor puts those same warnings on any site it does not have any information on. Those are risks associated with surfing not well known sites. It does not mean that McAfee has scanned the site and found those things. McAfee does not have the ability to scan the millions of sites out there totally.

In other words, if you were to host a web site, McAfee would rate your site the same way - because it knows nothing about you. How would you feel if you suddenly had people posting all over the internet that your site had viruses - when in fact it didn't, just because the site advisor said that was a risk?

The site advisor is a tool - and like all tools needs to be used responsibly. All the tool is really telling you is that they have no information about the site on file, a cursory scan has not been able to determine if the site is clean or not - and therefore, you should be careful when choosing to visit the site due to the "potential" risks.

If your parents have told you to never visit a site that the McAfee advisor gives this warning about - then obey your parents. But please don't post information about a site that could be false.
I agree
McAfee says that the website for a halloween parade is bad but its not
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-06-2010, 07:37 PM
guppy to goldfish guppy to goldfish is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: WI
Posts: 1,138
Default

I work in a computer shop, and any good antivirus software wwill block most (not all) threats that try to covertly down load on to you PC. With that said, here is what AVG LINK SCANNER had to say about www.fishlore.com :

Quote:
Explanation:
It is safe to proceed to this page.

Domain:

IP Address: 174.123.200.146

Owner:
Name:
Address:
Country Code:

Scanned on: 05/06/10 19:39:01
(4.05 seconds to scan this page)

Ratings are provided by AVG LinkScanner®. Site owners please contact AVG Technologies for questions.
__________________
55gal
Gold fish holding tank

RubberMaid
Goldfish Wintering "Unit"

10G Reef
EMPTY! Just Live Rock....Will stock it someday....

Biocube
1 lonely Platy


You'll find lots of fish smart people in the wal-mart pet aisle,but none are workers.

Last edited by Pris : 05-11-2010 at 06:16 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-26-2010, 08:41 PM
guitarest guitarest is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 13
Default

I am a MCSE and just disable Java and its free sailing anywhere you want with no fear at all. Although since many websites are designed with java in mind those little toys and games will be disabled also. Or use Firefox and install adblock and flash disabler and its 99% sure.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-02-2010, 11:12 PM
crepiduse crepiduse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 44
Default

http://www.avgthreatlabs.com/siterep...w.fishlore.com


Latest site report for:fishlore.com
Currently Safe
No active threats were reported recently by users anywhere on this domain

(updated Aug 01, 2010 23:59 GMT)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-02-2010, 11:15 PM
crepiduse crepiduse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 44
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by guitarest View Post
I am a MCSE and just disable Java and its free sailing anywhere you want with no fear at all. Although since many websites are designed with java in mind those little toys and games will be disabled also. Or use Firefox and install adblock and flash disabler and its 99% sure.
As an A+, MCSE, Network+, Yadda Yadda, Admin here, You're 1% right. nothing is 99%... Everything is 50/50 because NOTHING protects against ZeroDay Exploits. A good anti-virus, and plain common sense is the best method to avoid anything. Flash, PDF, Links, Java, the list just goes on for how things are infected or infecting machines now.

A recent study shows it only takes 6 Seconds online for a machine left ONLY with an active connection and no Anti-Virus installed to get infected.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-03-2010, 12:32 AM
andywoolloo andywoolloo is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: California
Posts: 6,820
Default

whoa, 6 secs?
__________________
"God bless America. God save the Queen. God defend New Zealand and thank Christ for Australia."

Russell Crowe
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.